Unravelling

June 29, 2009

knittingOnly a few days have passed, but so far I’ll admit, I enjoy this process of dropping a few lines here. I can’t say it’s always easy, though, trying to sort through the tangle of ideas in my head, hooking onto a single strand then trying to stay with the line of thought to see where it leads me. It’s a bit like knitting without a pattern. Or, having so many patterns I have no idea which one to choose.

That’s the thing about me. I have so much I long for sometimes I don’t know where to begin. The size of my list overwhelms me. Am I sure what I’ve chosen to jot down on my list are the things I really want? And when I chose one to strive for, what if I make a mistake or can’t pull it off?

A few years back I knit a sweater. It was the first time I attempted such a complicated project and once finished I impressed myself at how good it actually looked. As soon as I went to put it on, though, I realized I had a problem. The sweater fit me well enough but the wool I finally decided on weighed too much. I could barely lift it over my head. After all the time and effort I put into the project, I decided to unravel it and save the wool for some other creation I could actually hold up and enjoy. Surprisingly, it felt kind of good to admit I’d made a mistake and to start over again with something more suitable. I had put a lot of energy into making that sweater (then pulling it apart) but I hadn’t wasted my time. The process made me a better knitter. And, sometimes you just can’t tell if something will work, or not, until you see the final result.

It will be interesting to see how this blog and the rest of my list unravels. Which of the jumbled mass of ideas woven together inside of my head I’ll snag on to and where each one will lead me. There’s so much to choose from. The trick is to decide which strand to grasp on to… then pull.

One Response to “Unravelling”

  1. Many years ago, I wrote a piece called “Away with Salvador,” or should I say, I tried to write it. Using my computer, I tweaked it here and there, again and again. Every time I thought it was finished, I would listen to it the next day and find something that wasn’t right about it. When I finally recorded it with real musicians, instead of the mock versions I was creating on my computer, the tune really came together for what it was. I was imagining something striking and unique, but instead it sounded like a generic band from my progressive rock days. So, I decided to “unravel” the material and start over. But, I haven’t gotten around to it. It’s on my list of things to do.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

