The 43 Day Salute

July 17, 2009

Tomorrow I turn 43 years old (did I just say that out loud?) and in celebration of this new year I thought I’d try something a bit different and a little daring. I’ve decided, starting tomorrow, to post on my blog for 43 consecutive days. And on each day I’ll include a self-portrait photograph. I know… your hearts must be pounding with anticipation. I’m excited too (or maybe it’s nerves). It’s not easy writing everyday. Since I start blogging on the 24th of June I’ve written 22 posts (which means I missed about 3 days or so) and not all of these included a photo. And of the 22 I’ve written some flowed out much easier than others. It ain’t always easy to pull the words out of my head and shoot them through my fingertips. But it’s a good process for me to lay something down everyday. The more I write the better I’ll get at it- or at least that’s my plan. Apparently it takes 30 days to form a habit so kicking in the extra 13 days will hopefully only increase the chance that I’ll keep at it.

Now, there are a couple of things to note: The photo I include may come from my archives. Or, I may take the shot the day before I post since, ideally, I prefer (although I can’t always make it happen) to post in the morning. Trust me on this one; a morning photo may not be the best idea if I want people to actually keep coming back. Also, I may decide to go out of town for a few days and might not have access to the internet. If that happens I’ll post the missing days when I return.

So, there you have it, the half-baked scheme for a 43 day salute to myself. I have no idea what I’ll write about or how I’m going to pull it off but this course of action seems fitting when you take into account that for the last 43 years I’ve been pretty much been making it up as it comes along. To be honest with you this approach has had its drawbacks but we’ll see how it goes.

Until tomorrow…

5 Responses to “The 43 Day Salute”

  1. Mommy X said

    I look forward to the next 43 days! Happy Birthday sweet friend…you are the dearest!

    Love, love and more love to you for the next 43 years!!

  2. Dennise said

    Happy belated gf and welcome to the 43yr old club. Cheers to you darlin’ and I look forward to our annual(ish) get together.
    xoxo

  3. marika said

    I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. […] 2009 It’s day 3 of my 43 day salute (if you have no idea what I’m referring to click here) and I’m already having a tough time with the self portrait portion of my cutting edge idea. […]

  5. Al said

    I’m riveted!
    warm hugs
    Al

Leave a Reply

