(Day 9) Elephant

July 26, 2009

I dreamed I was being chased by an elephant last night. Yeah… I fed her (not sure of the gender but I think it was a she) which either pissed her off or stirred her into action. Whenever I had to pass by (which seemed to be an awful lot) I had to break into a sprint with this gigantic but beautiful beast galloping behind me in hot pursuit.

Of course, as soon as I woke up I checked the internet to see what symbolism I could find on the elephant dream theme. More than one site used words like “wisdom”, “inner strength”, “power”, “faithfulness”  and “intellect”. I thought so. I also confirmed my belief about the connection between elephants and memory. If you toss in the chase element from my dream, the general consensus on the web was there’s a big problem from my past I’m worrying about which I need to confront and overcome. I can buy that. I guess its all this reminiscing with my old journals that’s kicking up a bit of dust. Kinda like me feeding the elephantine memories by all this page turning and tearing and now those unresolved recollections are nipping at my heels.

Great…

I hope I can stop running soon. Too tiring. And, you know, I rather like elephants. Maybe the next time one comes after me in my sleep (or when I’m awake) I’ll be have enough courage to stop in my tracks, gaze into her eyes then gently send her away  (it is my dream after all). Or, I’ll hold out my hand to make friends with it.

(By the way… I happened to find this little elephant a couple of weeks ago. Perfect for this morning’s backyard photo shoot. Who knew it would come in so handy.)

Leave a Reply

