(Day 14) Tomorrow Never Comes

July 31, 2009

One key element must exist in a procrastinator’s character and its the never ending pursuit of the perfect day. Tomorrow always seems better then now as the piles of  what we should have done today starts tipping into yesterday. I used to be that way. I still am in some ways, except I take action more then I used to (could still use some work in that department). And, I know that instead of waiting for the perfect day to arrive any day will do. What I mean is… I know the perfect day doesn’t exist, at least not in the future.

One of the most striking examples of this came to me in a conversation with my father. This was six years ago (almost impossible to comprehend the time) after he had been diagnosed with lung cancer which would eventually (and too quickly) claim his life. He still felt okay at this point – but not great. I asked him if he planned on going back to his place of birth to see his family. It had been a while since his last visit and he said, without missing a beat, “As soon as I’m feeling better I’m on he next plane.” Unfortunately, he never made that particular flight.

That conversation pops into my mind every once in a while. With all the things I want to do (there’s this list plus some) I wonder what am I waiting for? Even though at this particular moment, I’m a bit foggy and my neck’s a bit tight (blah blah blah), I still feel pretty good. I’m healthy, have my wits about me and supportive relationships in my life. I’m not saying I feel on top of it at all times. I don’t.  But who knows what tomorrow will bring? I’m in a position to make most of what I want happen. Now. And I pray I feel this way for as long as possible. I’m truly grateful to be where I’m sitting – Right here. Right now. Today. And I should take full advantage of that (with the French book dangling over my head and the swimming pool beckoning- etc etc etc….)

I know I’ve said it before but sometimes I just need to remind myself .

Leave a Reply

