(Day 28) Gimme a D!!!

August 14, 2009

I’m just going to say it… I drank too much last night and now I’m paying for it. I won’t call it a full on hangover. But I do have a mild headache accompanied by a subtle wooze that has “red wine” written all over it.

On mornings like these I think of two things:

1) I really need to have a few posts on the side I can resort to when I’m feeling a little…. sluggish,

and,

2)The time has come for me to cleanse out my system with a gentle DETOX.

I’m not saying that I’m going to start right now (come on, it’s Friday). And I don’t think I need to go too crazy with this. But, sometime in the very near future, I need to sit down and figure out a few menu plans that are gentle on my system. I’m talking portion control, no vino, 2 litres of water a day, minimal amounts of salt and sugar. I eat fairly well to begin with for the most part. I eat fish, but no meat or wheat (even though miniscule amounts of wheat might sneak in here and there). I consume a very limited amount dairy, I don’t drink too much alcohol (a bit more than I’d like though) and try to limit my sugar intake as much as I can. But the operative word here is usually… I have no problem avoiding meat or wheat. And the dairy angle… a teensy nibble of cheese (and I mean teensy – mmm havarti…) and an occasional  dollop of milk on an espresso every once in long while (I usually use soy) is more than my gut can handle.  I’ve been using the excuse that it’s summertime to give in to a little snacky-poo with a glass (or two?) of red more frequently than I should. Every once in a while is fine but eventually it all starts to add up. Yep, it’s time to start reeling it in.

Last night was a lot of fun, though.

Leave a Reply

