(Day 29) Whatever

August 15, 2009

Up since 5… Whatever. It is what it is, right? Laid in bed for about an hour then decided to just get up. Might was well dig into the multi-item task list I had looping in my brain. Problem is when I wake up that early I’m too tired to actually do anything. I did manage to bust a glass I was washing and cut my arm. Good work. Wasn’t as bad is it seemed. The good news is my blood looks nice and red and the bleeding stopped rather quickly.

Wow, this off to a good start.

This morning, at about the forty five minute mark of the toss and the turn, I started thinking of all the stuff I’d like to get accomplished in the next month. Geez, that’s a great way to try falling back to sleep. Once I started hyperventilating, I switched my back-to-sleep action plan over to clearing my mind and filling myself with a sense of calm and peace. Roughly eight seconds later I decided to get up. (Insert sigh here.)

It’s going to be a hot one out there today. I’m going to head over to the Humber Trail and go for a nice long walk. Hopefully, I won’t melt – or collapse. I’ll have water with me and will definitely slather the sunscreen on, very important. I have to admit the feel of sunscreen makes my skin crawl. I try using it as much as I can but some days the very thought of it makes me want to hurl. I’ve even been wearing a hat (accidentally typed hate) which is not the best way to maintain a cork screw curl – or any curl for that matter – but one does what needs to be done. For sun protection, I’ve been using Neutregena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock, SPF 45. This is one of the few I can (almost) stomach. I’m still looking for the ultimate spread for my sensitive skin. If you know of one you think I should try I’m open to suggestions. My skin (especially my arms) has gotten all blotchy and rashy this summer. I don’t have clue what’s going on with it. Maybe it’s the sunscreen I’m using, the harsh rays of the sun or my diet – maybe all of the above. No clue.

Think I’ll slink into the shower and see if I can rinse off this veil of fatigue. I’ll do a creative visualization and watch the weariness slide down my body and swirl down the drain. Tah Tah…

Leave a Reply

