(30 Days) To Form A Habit

August 16, 2009

Right… So it’s day thirty of the forty three in a row which means I have two more weeks to left of daily posting. I believe the mold has begun to set and has taken on a solid texture. Who knows what will happen once I complete the forty three days but I feel as if a habit is forming. When I woke up this morning I thought how easy it would be to skip posting today. I like to post first thing in the morning so I don’t have to think about it for the rest of the day. I decided to slip in a forty five minute, at home, yoga workout instead. It’s pretty toasty in my room (we’re in the midst of a mini heatwave in Toronto) and I had a steady stream of sweat rolling off my body (too much information?) and into my eyes with all those forward bends. Felt like I was in one of those Hot Yoga classes. I have zero desire of ever taking one of those classes. Hot Yoga is MUCH hotter than it is in here. Anyway, I had a great workout and I’m glad I took the time to do it first thing. The best part was after I was done I looked forward to sitting down and bogging.

For the record, I’m basically a morning person. If  have stuff I need to do I’d rather get on it and get it out of the way otherwise I tend to keep pushing it later into the day and next thing you know it’s tomorrow.

Which reminds me… I while ago, before I started my blog but knew I was going to, I heard of NaBloPoMo which stands for National Blog Posting Month. It’s an incentive to bloggers to post for thirty consecutive days and helps us along by offering a theme. I don’t think you have to adhere to the chosen theme but it can help having something to focus on. I wanted to register for NaBloPoMo when I started my self imposed forty three days but I kept putting it off. And now it’s too late. It’s not a big deal but it would have been nice to have piggy backed the two. Think I’ll sign up for it in a month or so to keep me on track.

Here’s another thought. Depending on how much sleep I get tonight I just might drag my ass to the pool tomorrow. Great… I said that out loud and now I’ll feel compelled to do it. (My stomach just got a mini knot in it.) Swimming is one of those things I like to do first thing in the morning. A few years ago I used to go two or three times a week. I certainly fell of that wagon. It’s difficult to do everything at the beginning of the day since there are only so many hours to work with. The time slot for the distance swim at the pool I want to go to is between 6:30 and 8:30 Monday, Wednesday and Friday and 7:30 to 8:30 Tuesday and Thursday. I’ve gone to this pool twice before and I like it. It takes me about fifteen minutes to walk there and at that time of day the streets are quiet and the air feels calm. It’s great. To begin, I’ll have to force myself to go. I takes me a little while to feel at home at a new place like that and if I can push myself to do it for a month I hope a habit will be formed. Swimming make me feel good. The best excuse I have for not going is my lack of sleep. I’m usually wiped out in the morning after a night of interrupted slumber. Often, I’ve just fallen back to sleep at 6:00 after being up for three hours and the thought of doing anything other than making myself a coffee seems impossible. I hope I feel the way I do now tomorrow, then I will definitely take the plunge. One step at a time right?

I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

