(Day 31) Diving In

August 17, 2009

I did it. I dragged my tired butt out of bed this morning and laid down some long overdue tracks to the pool. I did not sleep well last night at all. I had the clock set for 6:15 and, I swear, I must have fallen asleep at 6:12 (slight exaggeration). Still, when my clock went off I managed to peel my back off that mattress and get up. I made it out the door by 7:12 and jumped (actually more like slid gently down) into the pool by 7:35. I need to get back in shape but that makes sense after being on dry land for so long. When I got to the pool the medium lane (the one I usually choose) only had two other people in it. This is good. Having no one in the lane I want is ideal but when using a public pool one takes what they get. I swam for about 25 minutes (not straight – are you kidding? I stopped to catch my breath after each lap) and by the time I left my lane had filled up a bit. When we all can keep up a decent pace without interfering with each other (not a bad metaphor for life) I’m a happy girl. Overall, I’ll give my first day back to the pool an 8.5 out of 10. The point and a half I’m deducting from the score is because a) On my way out, as I was triumphantly jogging up the stairs, my hands balled up into power-to-the people fists and my arms thrown into the air, the theme music to the movie Rocky slammed into my head. For me, this is one of the most annoying  songs I’ve ever heard – especially when they start singing (oh shit, it popped back in my head again).  And, b) As I was patting myself on the back, for starting my 30 day habit forming 2 days a week swim, I noticed a sign saying the pool will be closed from Sept 7 – 27 for pool maintenance. (Insert sound of screeching tires here.) Hopefully, I’ll figure something out. I still have three weeks and want to go back on Wednesday. I hope I’m able to keep it up. I need to convince myself that not going is not an option. It’s so easy not to go but feels so good when I do.

Oh… and I need a new bathing suit. I’m glad I didn’t try it on yesterday. I might not have gone swimming this morning if I had. It got the job done but let’s just say it’s not offering as much support as I’d like. When trying to make positive and long overdue change in my life, the more support I have on my side the better. Ultimately though, it all comes down to me.

One Response to “(Day 31) Diving In”

  1. Heather Taylor said

    Great description of the experience of public pool swimming. I note the similarity between this comment and your later comment on walking the streets of Toronto … seems to be a common thread to city life, always trying to find the write flow of people.

Leave a Reply

