Another One Bites The (Star) Dust

September 20, 2009

A hush has fallen over the city now that the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) has flipped its last frame for another year. TIFF is big. You can see signs of it everywhere in the core of the city. The number of telephoto lenses I saw this year were astounding. It seemed as if every other person was toting a tripod and mega cam on their shoulder. And, if you were lucky, or unlucky enough, depending on how you feel about clogged sidewalks, paparazzi and movie stars, you might have found yourself dining in the same restaurant as one of your favourite film personalities or espied some big named celeb bathing in the glow and hum of this great city (for the most part) where I’ve lived in for the last 23 years.

I didn’t see too many “names” roaming the streets except for Bono (I’m pretty sure U2 had a gig here a few days ago so technically I’m not sure I can say he was here for the Festival.) I was, however, lured toward Metro Square yesterday, located just west of Roy Thompson Hall (one of the festival venues), by the collective energy of the frenzied crowded who had gathered en masse to swoon over the attractive Indian actor Priyanka Chopra starring in the new film by Ashutosh Gowariker called, What’s Your Raashee. At least, I think it was her. I could barely see her through the swelling crowd. And, when I asked someone, I’m pretty sure that’s what they said. I don’t know much about Priyanka (what a pretty name) but wow, does she have a lot of fans. And double wow, is she ever beautiful. She eventually floated in my direction and, just before I got clobbered on the head by an excited movie goer’s elbow, I managed to sneak a peek. Just for the record, she signed a lot of autographs and made a lot of her fans very happy. There were many smiling faces at Metro Square yesterday. I don’t know much about this flick but if it has even half the charm of one of Gowariker’s other films, Lagaan: Once Apon A Time In India, it’s sure to be a crowd pleaser. I seriously love Lagaan. It’s of my favourite films. Right up there with Truffaut’s Day For Night and Woody Allen’s Hannah and Her Sisters. I’ve seen it about three times and am sure I’ll be seeing it again at some point. And it’s long. Like, over three hours long. But it’s one of those films that pulls you right in so the time whizzes by as fast as a freshly smacked cricket ball.  There are puh-lenty of films I absolutely adore and have seen numerous times and I’ll definitely be writing about them sometime in the near-ish future. Just try to contain your excitement and stay tuned.

But for now, all I can say is: So long TIFF. See you the same time next year.

2 Responses to “Another One Bites The (Star) Dust”

  1. Angela said

    Your description of the crowd and the resulting ebullience puts one big smile on my face… thanks! Glad you found yourself in it!

  2. Mommy X said

    Bono! Who’s he anyway??? LOL!

Leave a Reply

