The Rising Son

September 25, 2009

On my way to a 9am dental appointment yesterday morning (my teeth are so clean you need a set of uv protected, polarized sunglasses to behold my smile) my eyes latched on to a family of four – mom, dad, boy, girl – on the same bus that I was on. What peeled my eyes off the book I was reading, Beautiful Boy by David Sheff, about, as the book cover reads, “a father’s journey through his son’s addiction”, must have been the “goodbye” I heard shouted across the length of the vehicle as it slowed toward the stop. When I looked up then out the window it was the the boy my eyes first landed on. He was about 5 years old and the early morning sun seemed to beam out of his eyes sockets and out through his smile. These enormous dimples pressed into each of his cheeks as he and his mother hit the sidewalk after exiting through the back door. The dad and daughter (she looked to be around 7 or 8 years old) used the front door to exit and the “goodbye” I had heard a few seconds earlier was the two teams bidding each other farewell when they parted in the center of the bus. They met again eight seconds later for their gigglefest reunion on the sidewalk. Each of them laughed from deep within their bellies  looking so happy to see each other again that is was impossible to contain my own smile. Impossible. They got smaller in the distance as the bus pulled away and I couldn’t help wondering what their scene will look like 1o, 15, 20 years from now. Will they still be so happy to see each other? Will the boy’s dimples still embed themselves so effortlessly into his cheeks at the sight of his mother and father and sis? I hope so. I hope they’re all still smiling.

By the way, I’m really enjoying the book I mentioned earlier. By page twenty-three I had a very strong feeling it will be difficult for me to put the book down. I’m only on page fifty-six of this memoir but so far Sheff has me hooked (so to speak).

2 Responses to “The Rising Son”

  1. Mommy X said

    Love this post…I bet you were smiling the whole time! Something to aspire to!

  2. Al said

    You had me smiling too!

Leave a Reply

