The Visitor

October 20, 2009

I saw a movie last night, written and directed by Thomas McCarthy called, The Visitor.  I should have known I’d love it since McCarthy also wrote and directed The Station Agent (another great film you should check out). If you’re the type of person who likes over the top, action packed blockbusters (which I also like from time to time) this may not be the film for you. This one is even keeled with strong writing and an amazing cast. It stars Richard Jenkins, whose name you may or may not be familiar with, but who you’ve probably seen in more than one flick before. He had a part in Flirting With Disaster (another one I recommend) as well as numerous other roles, including the father in Six Feet Under whose car gets smashed in the first episode. I’ve always liked Jenkins and loved seeing him here in the lead role.

If you’ve read the one or two recommendations I’ve made before you’ll remember I don’t like saying too much. I’d rather just steer you in the right direction and let you be the judge.

Leave a Reply

