That Was A Blur

November 17, 2009

I had the day “off” yesterday. That seemed to go by in a blur. There’s always so much to get done in a day, no? I think some times, though, I can make things a little more complicated and full than necessary. Still, Sunday blurred by, as well, what with the parade and all. To be honest with you, the parade seemed to drag on a bit too long for me. Maybe a half hour longer than need be. And Sheeee-it, digging back to my wonder years (I vaguely remember going to the S.C.D. Parade in Winnipeg but that may have been a dream?) I cannot recall so many frickin’ avderts on the parade route as there are these days. Every float seemed to have some company’s banner dangling off of it, not to mention all those clowns (literally) pushing wheel-fitted signs, ranging from pizza ads to reminders that it’s flu season (duh… as if we need to be reminded). Geez, can we not have one effin day off from hearing (or reading) about the fucking flu?I know it’s important to be aware and all and before I go any further, I’d like to send out an early seasonal wish to ALL of us to stay as healthy as possible this season (and always, actually) both mentally and physically. But sheee-it (again), I cannot tell you how sick I’m getting of hearing about the flu (one type in particular). If I was scientifically inclined, I’d create a vaccine to ward the sickening feeling one gets from hearing about the various illnesses and overly discussed (disgust?) topics in the news. I’m sure I could become a bah-gillionaire. I’m not even going to  flip the names of some of these over manipulated topics on my blog for fear of contamination. We all know what I’m referring to. Anyway…. back to the parade. Each float seemed to hover in front of us for a bit too long. I felt bad for some of the floatees and street walkers (ho ho ho indeed) – marching band members types, crowd wavers, clowns, etc – who had to inhale the fumes emitting off of some of the float-toting flatbed trucks. I wish Santa’s flatbed would have slowed down a bit though. Holy blur. We blinked and he was gone. Check out the reindeer’s neck in today’s photo snapping back from the speed of it all. The wee ones seemed to dig it though, which realy was the reason I was there. I say, let them enjoy it while they can, since the time does fly and before they know it they’ll be the ones complaining.

2 Responses to “That Was A Blur”

  1. Dennise said

    everything has ads on it now…from movies to pro sports players jerseys..but still we had fun..my kids are 14 and 11 and have never seen this parade in person, so their eyes aren’t jaded yet..got there before 9am and got a great spot across from the museum. at that age it’s nice to get family time anyway you can.

  2. Angela said

    Ditto on finding an wonderful way to spend “family” time (that part of it truly is a joy) even if the wee ones are on loan! But I do hear you about the diesel fumes (cough, cough)… there has to be a better way.

    Ditto also on noting the speed of the Santa float! I blinked when he went by so missed the whole affair! I do LOVE the photo catch of the speed-snapped neck of:
    Dasher or Dancer or Prancer or Vixen;
    Comet or Cupid or Donner or Blitzen…

    I actually laughed out loud when I read and looked again at the shot… Priceless…

Leave a Reply

