The Skate Date

December 2, 2009

Yesterday, I found myself wandering around the water’s edge. I had a few minutes to myself so I grabbed my camera, pulled on my hat and headed south. I just followed my head and that’s where it lead me. Nothing more soothing than sitting by myself for a few minutes on a bench staring out into Lake Ontario, then strolling through the York Quay Gallery and then checking out the Respect exhibit to rejuvenate.

Harbourfront is an interesting place here in Toronto and it really has a lot to offer. But, for some reason, it seems as if it is so distant and difficult to get to. Perhaps it’s the the highway you have to cross to get there or the high wall of condo towers (don’t get me started) blocking it from view that helps create that cut off from the rest of the city illusion, but it’s a lot easier to get to than it used to be. From where I work, it takes no time to walk there. And these days, you can always  jump on the streetcar leaving from Union or Spadina Station.

Anyway, I could go on but I’ll spare you the ramble. What I did want to mention was my second gift suggestion inspired by yesterday’s visit.

The Skate Date.

The temperature has barely dropped below zero but skating at Harbourfront was in full swing. Wouldn’t it be great to invite a friend for a twirl around the rink with Lake Ontraio in the distance? If the invitee does not happen to have a set of their own blades you can offer to rent them a pair. Take them out for a hot chocholate or some kind of tasty spiked coffee after. Better yet, invite them back to your place for a glass of wine. If it were me, before or after skating, I’d definitely be feasting my eyes on the outdoor RESPECT exhibit just east if the rink or stopping into the Power Plant or York Quay Gallery. I’d recommend you call first or check out the Harbourfront Centre website here to make sure they have something on. Personally, I’d be choosing the most down time of the day. I’m not so big into crowds and having the rink (or gallery) to myself would be absolute bliss – but that can’t always happen. Harbourfront is just one example here in Toronto and depending on where you live the options will vary. A little bit of research can go a long way. A remember to dress for it.

One Response to “The Skate Date”

  1. Mommy X said

    Love this…we’re planning on taking the kiddies skating there!

Leave a Reply

