The Circle

December 5, 2009

If I were able to choose a shape to represent who I am I’d like to be thought of as a circle (certainly not a square). Perfectly balanced, well rounded, my outline always at an equal distance from my centre. True, circles can be thought of as constantly going round and round and round again (been there, done that), but if I look at it in a particular way I can see that this cycling and recycling is how we learn and grow – if we choose to. One day you go around that bend for what seems like the millionth time to realize the view has changed. The grooves are deeper with all that spinning it only stands to reason the perspective would change from this new place. I don’t know…

In one day a life slips away as another person celebrates their own. These two people who are wrapped up in me, who I know but don’t know. Yet, I can’t help but feel their gentle pull inside my veins because it is blood we share. This must be how the ocean feels in relation to the moon. Ebbing and flowing. New moon to full. The circle of life.

Gift Suggestion #5

A Reminder

It is easy to forget, or at times difficult to see, how truly awesome life can be. I can certainly get swept away in the haze. Life can get hectic and confusing and so incredibly routine. We get so busy focusing on what needs to be accomplished we forget to look up. I’ve said this before and every once in a while I try to remind myself… This thing I’m doing (or not doing) this minute. Whatever that may be… This is my life. Sounds obvious, I know, but sometimes I think that fog of what we settle for makes it difficult to really taste what that means and to appreciate the gift of it.

All I’m suggesting is that you remind someone to look up. To look in the mirror and ask themselves if they are okay with what they see. Rumi says it so well:

We are the mirror as well as the face in it.

We are tasting the taste this minute

of eternity. We are pain

and what cures pain, both. We are

the sweet cold water and the jar that pours.

– I love that.

Leave a Reply

