Chilling

January 10, 2010

I went for a long stroll on the trail the other day. I’ve walked that path on so many occasions but this is the first time I’ve dropped into the valley in the winter. What a difference a snowfall makes. Such an altered experience, so beautifully transformed by the elements. The way I feel hidden when the leaves create a wall of green in the summer, only to discover how close I am to the trail on the other side of the stream once those leaves have swayed through the atmosphere, landing on the ground to create a multicoloured carpet; amber, gold and rusty, now becoming fertilizer beneath the snow. That’s what I love about the changing seasons. The different way the air smells. The sound my shoes make, whether crunching over snow or gravel, snapping twigs or curled up leaves, dried or frozen depending on the time of year. There’s so much revealed in the receding and regrowth, the freezing and melting. All I have to do is look.

As much as I dislike a chill sinking into my bones I love the awe-filled (as opposed to awful) shivers running up my spine. Those natural and subtle reminders the environment can’t help but offer (it’s in its nature) of life’s evolution regardless of the temperature.

Just have to remember to dress for it.

2 Responses to “Chilling”

  1. Angela said

    Oh my… your entry makes me swoon with remembered joy … I must get out and walk amongst the birds, trees and water again. Time is so fleeting… Thank you for the reminder.

  2. jeanine said

    amen sister. as much as the winter can get long come march, i wouldn’t trade it for anything. i feel blessed to live somewhere with 4 seasons. and it is how you look at it, isn’t it? our mountain in the middle of the city is filled with sledders and snow- shoers and cross-country skiers and runners. everyone is making the most of it and creating joy in the cold.

Leave a Reply

