My Two Cents (or more…)

January 14, 2010

I wasn’t going to post today. Even though I’ve got a ton of stuff I need to take care of, I found myself doing what seems to come so easily and with the least amount of effort – being distracted by other people’s blogs. After checking out one in particular (via Dooce) I felt inspired to put in my two cents on a weighing matter.

I’ve been reading about the situation in Haiti. My heart breaks for the people and the land and my deep, deep hope is that after such an incredible disaster, they will get the help they need – as quickly as possible. There is so much shit going on out there and by there I mean globally. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed and helpless by it all. How can I, this minute dot on the planet, make an iota of a difference, in the face of such a colossal mess? Well, many dots together form a mass, don’t they? And the thicker the accumulation (and healthier for that matter, in intention and vibe) the more strength it will acquire. But, what to do?

At Chris Sacca’s site, here, (which Dooce mentions) he includes some ways in which one can lend a hand. You can also check out this article in the Globe and Mail, here, for other options. It’s always wise to make sure you’re donating to a safe, reliable cause, and it is up to you to do a bit of research. These two sites have done a lot of the leg work for you. Offering aid to this extremely worthy cause (or any worthy cause for that matter), regardless of how few or many dollars one may have to give (remember, strength in numbers), can go a long way.

If all you’re able to send is a healing dose of energy to those in need, or positive thoughts of rebirth, health and safety – so be it. It’s my firm belief  that we’re all in this together. When we’re able help each other, however we can, I think the universal vibe shifts in a way, for the better, because it feels good to help someone. Everyday we hear more and more news of suffering and turmoil that some of us have become numb to it all. And sometimes, it takes a real hard shake to wake us.

Leave a Reply

