Happy Birthday Mr. S

March 22, 2010

Before I lay me down to sleep I must send out a warm Happy 80th Birthday wish to Stephen Sondheim. I hope he had an amazing day. Anyone who can write lyrics to a song that includes the line Once I was a Schleppa, Now I’m Miss Mazzeppa, from the song You Gotta Have a Gimmick in the musical Gypsy – which may not sound so fabulous out of context, but has to be one of my all-time favourite show tune (and I’ve heard quite a few) lines, has a special place in my heart. I don’t know all of the shows he’s written (there are many) but the one’s I do know, soar.

Here’s a clip from one of my all time faves. Check out them lyrics. Right on…

BTW, thanks MommyX for the head’s up.

One Response to “Happy Birthday Mr. S”

  1. Mommy X said

    Excellent clip! Rita rocks!!!

Leave a Reply

