Put Yourself in Their Shoes

March 26, 2010

I took a stroll through the Bata Shoe Museum, yesterday, located on Bloor St West at University Av., in Toronto. I had a pretty good time. I couldn’t help thinking that, maybe if my high school history teachers had taken me somewhere like this I might know a thing or two about what happened before 1970 – but alas, this was not the case. The museum was fairly quiet when I was there, (just as I like it) and it got my imagination rolling, something I rather enjoy. I found myself conjuring up the various scenarios of whose toes were wiggling in whatever pair my eyes had landed on.

My favourite area in the museum was up on the third floor at the On A Pedestal Exhibit, there until September 20, 2010. You can see a dimly shot example of a set of sixteenth century Venetian chopines in the first of the six shots above. How anyone could walk in those is beyond me, since I sometimes have problems negotiating the sidewalk in flats, but from what I read more than a few ladies took a tumble in those days. The pair I most wanted to slip into, however, were on the lower level in the aptly named All About Shoes room, the blue beauties from the ’30s (seen above on the left) with the black and white stripe along the opening. I’ve always been fond of the 30s fashion and was batting my lashes at these dolls. If I were a better documentarian I would have jotted the name of the designer down but I’ll have to get back to you on that.

If you’re interested in checking out the Bata Shoe Museum and you have a Toronto Public Library card (by far the most valuable card in my wallet) check out the library’s MAP program which can gain you access into a few point-of-interest venues around the city. Slip your feet into a part of comfy gallery (or museum) hoppers and be on your way.

One Response to “Put Yourself in Their Shoes”

Leave a Reply

