Mmmm…

April 10, 2010

I had  couple of bananas on the way out on Monday and decided to make a banana loaf. Of course I consulted, not the mid-sized collection of cookbooks I have leaning on my shelves, but the internet. After much clicking, reading and finding a reason why I shouldn’t invest my time making a particular recipe I decided on the 10 Minute Banana Bread recipe I found over at a site called, The Fresh Loaf. I thought to myself, right… ten minutes my arse. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tackled (quite literally) a recipe claiming to be easily completed in thirty minutes or less, still to be found sweating in front of the stove or oven an hour later. Now, I can’t say this took exactly the claimed ten but I will say it didn’t take much longer. Not only that, it’s frickin’ deelish. A lot of the comments following the recipe are informative too. Plus, I substituted spelt flour for the all-purpose called for in the recipe (for the most part, I don’t eat wheat products), however, I added a bit more spelt flour since, apparently, when subbing spelt flour you should increase the amount of dry ingredients a bit (shoot where did that link go about spelt flour? I’ll try to find it later.). Oh yeah, and to make it even easier I melted the butter AND I used this Wholesome Fair Trade Certified Organic Sugar and decreased the amount a bit. Next time I will use even less sugar because I don’t like my baked goods too sweet (not that this was too sweet but I tend to usually take it down a few notches in sweetening department).

A wee note about sugar. If I’m baking (which I love to do) for just Bill and I, I usually use the Wholesome Sugar I just mentioned or the raw cane sugar version because I believe it’s healthier for day-to-day use. If I were making a more finicky desert or baking for, say, a dinner party or potluck (which I don’t do often) I’d most likely use regular sugar. I generally buy fair trade sugar to support the workers in that industry. Here is a link to part 1 of 5 of a documentary made by the CBC I saw years ago called Big Sugar. You can find the remaining four parts of the documentary there as well (man, I love the net). Check it out if you want to get a good understanding about the industry. Back to the banana bread…

Bottom line… this recipe rocked and was easy to make. If you have a couple of bananas going all brown and spotty do yourself a favour and whip yourself up a loaf. Big thanks to The Fresh Loaf for such a yumilicious find.

BTW, I really need to play around a bit with food photography. I think I could have done better with that shot. Just sayin’…

Leave a Reply

