Mmmm…

June 4, 2010

Hot out of the oven.

When I was in NYC a couple of weeks ago I sank my teeth into the yummiest scone ever. I found it at the Whole Foods Market in Columbus Circle. I felt extra pleased because not only was it flakey and freakin’ delicious, it was made with spelt flour which is perfect for me since I happen to have a sensitivity to wheat. One of the first things I did when I got back home from the big city (other than cry – my trip could have been a couple of days longer) was sit down at my computer to see if I could rustle up the recipe on-line. And, I’m pretty sure I found it. I wanted to share with you. I found it very easy to make and had to stop myself from eating two or three at a time although Bill caved and ate two which is a big compliment to the chef (thank you very much!). Today will be the real test, though, when I see how well a day old scone holds up. I’m not quite ready to take the edible plunge so early in the morning so check in tomorrow for an update.

Whole Grain Cherry Cardamom Scones

BTW, I used kefir instead of butter milk and dried cranberries instead of dried cherries (they’re kind of pricey and I had the cranberries on hand). I also chucked in a mitt full of walnuts but these definitely are optional. Oh, and since my cardamom was kinda old and tasteless I used some cinnamon instead. I will make it again soon with cardamom. Cardamom has such a distinct flavour I’m sure it will create an entirely different scone-related taste sensation. I can’t wait.

Happy baking!!!

Leave a Reply

