19) Nice

June 22, 2010

Wish Come True @ The Bay Adelaide Centre

Wish Come True @ Queen's Park

More Wishing in Queen's Park

Wish Come True @ 225 King Street West

Upstairs @ Balzac's Café in the Distillery

Operatic bunnies. I loved these dudes. Great music. Spellbinding. Was kinda dark in there.

Last week zoomed by so quickly. I guess it had to do with my whirlwind visit to Winnipeg and shifted days off but it seemed as if it was a gigantic challenge for me to squeeze everything in that I wanted to accomplish. What else is new? Well, despite feeling a wee bit frenzied and frazzled I have to say I did find the time to squash a few things in and in the process found my frantic feeling self smile on more than one occasion.

List 19 – A few things that made me smile over the last week.

  • Having lunch with my mother, last Monday, in the conservatory restaurant (I forget the name) at Assiniboine Park. The location was great,  food was mediocre, but the company was divine.
  • Popping into as many free Luminato sites as I could manage. Wasn’t as many as I would have liked but seeing the Nabaz’mob, opera for 100 smart rabbits, by Antoine Schmitt and Jean-Jacques Birgé and the bouncy balloonish installations about town, which were part of the Wish Come True Festival, certainly managed to turn my frown upside down.
  • Discovering the bid I had placed in a silent auction during the Contact Festival won. I picked it up last Tuesday. The photograph itself is filled with meaning for me, thought-provoking and in ways quite sad. But the fact that I now own it is what makes me happy. There’s something about this photograph, taken by Benoit Roussel, of displaced Haitian women queuing up to see a physician for the first time in years, that helps me put things into perspective. I feel strength from these woman.
  • The group of teens who asked me if I wanted a note so help me feel better. I usually scoff at these things but was feeling pretty good already so thought what the heck. Some days I’ll take as much help as I can hang on to. BTW, the note (which I forgot about for a few days) said, I hope this note will give you faith to belive and courage to reach to others. This sort of hand out can usually get on my nerves but since it seems open to interpretation I realize I rather like the sentiment of it.
  • The knowledge that I will be getting a cd in the mail soon since entering a swap here. I really look forward to listening to it and vow to have mine in the mail to her by the end of the week.
  • The fact that my African Violet which seems to be going through a bit of a struggle is pushing out a couple blooms for me.
  • That something extremely good happened to a very good friend of mine. So happy about this!
  • I went to see my massage therapist after a very long hiatus. After completely wiping out twice in the last seven months I can tell you my body was so ready to fall under her spell.
  • Seeing the movie C.R.A.Z.Y. for maybe the fifth time. It is a definite favourite.
  • Through the overgrown weeks in my yard (front and back) I noticed a few flowers blooming I had either forgotten about or thought I had lost in the shuffle,
  • Going on the Father’s Day Walk for Prostate Cancer Sunday morning with my sister and very good friend. It felt good to be supporting a worthy cause, honouring all the amazing men in my life whilst giggling with my buddies. What a wonderful way to start the day.
  • My post-walk/ pre-work single espresso macchiato at Balzac’s with the girls on Sunday. Mmmm…

Whatever it is you’re up to today, whether it’s completely routine or absolutely adventurous, I hope you find a way to allow it to put a smile on your face.

Leave a Reply

