21) Happy…

July 1, 2010

Despite last weekend’s fiasco (I’m still trying to put out the flames in my gut over that one) and a few (or several) decision makers in this beloved country of ours, there are so many amazing qualities about this vast nation that make me happy to call myself a Canadian.

List 21Here are a few reasons why I think Canada Rocks:

  • Red and White look pretty good together.
  • It always seems to get a bad rap but I love Toronto. She ain’t flawless, but then again neither am I. Stay tuned for a future post on all (or, at least some, there are so many) of the amazing qualities of this city I now call home.
  • The wide open skies of the prairies. I loved growing up in Winnipeg and visiting family there at least once a year.
  • The northern lights. I haven’t seen them in years but I remember sitting on my front steps in Winnipeg or laying on the lawn in my back yard when I was younger, seriously swooning over the swirl of colours dancing across the wide Winnipeg sky. Truly awesome.
  • Maple Syrup. Mmmm…
  • Cultural diveristy.
  • Montréal.
  • The French language. Our other official tongue that I long to speak fluently one day. Un jour…
  • That I was born here.
  • Wonderfully talented assortment of musicians, authors, artists, film makers… Some of the best in the world. Just off the top of my eraly morning brain: Joni Mitchell, The Evergreen Club Gamelan Ensemble, Roberson Davies, Glenn Gould, Robert Lepage, David Steinberg, Carol Shields, Alice Munro, The Group of Seven, Leonard Cohen, and many, many many more.
  • Grand Beach, Manitoba. Sorry, I can’t find a great shot. I can’t tell you how many summer days I spent hanging with my pals on a towel at this Californiaesque, sandy beach beside a transistor radio, a well stocked cooler and a large bag of Tasty sunflowers seeds.
  • The Canadian Rockies – and that I’ve seen them. Wow.
  • Canadians tend to be proud of our nationality (a sweeping generalization, I know) but don’t feel the need to be in your face about it. I like that, eh?
  • The Laurentians.
  • My desire to road trip (yes, I’m using that as a verb) from the east to west coast and travel up into the North West Territories. I’d love to see as much of this country as possible.
  • The 8.54 km rink at The Forks in Winnipeg makes it, according to Guiness, the longest rink in the world. The Rideau Canal in Ottawa runs (or skates) a close second at 7.8 km.
  • Niagara Falls.
  • Colourful currency.
  • Conklin Shows.  When I was growing up in the Winnipeg  we called Manisphere. Now it’s call, The Red River Ex. Here in Toronto it’s the Canadian National Exhibition or C.N E.
  • Steve Paikin. Host of The Agenda on TVO.
  • Naomi Klein. Check out this great article she recently wrote in the Globe and Mail.
  • That we use a “u” is some of my favourite words.

Swinging at the C.N.E.

Maligne Lake

Happy Canada Day!

What do you like most about this Canada? Do tell…


2 Responses to “21) Happy…”

  1. Bil Par said

    The immense beauty of it’s land.
    Thanks for the EC link.

    Nice post. It was very quiet over here.
    Heard some firecrackers. But it’s more Baptiste Day they celebrate here.

    B
    ox

  2. Mommy X said

    Awesome list! I will have to thumb through my old pics of when I was “on tour” and find one of the lovely Grand Beach…it’s a gorgeous place!

    x.

Leave a Reply

