Treasure It.

August 20, 2010

One person's trash is another person's treasure.

The August Break – Day 20

Bill and I went for a nice loooong (ouch my legs) bike ride today, my first this season, and happened upon this ziploc bag. It had a small notepad tucked inside and was seemingly tossed on the banks of the Don River. I felt a bit miffed when I saw it thinking someone had littered (a pet peeve) when I realized there was something written on the bag. It said,  Do not throw out. Look, read + sign if you like. Thank you. Inside there was a note left by a brother and sister team, 6 and 8 years-old, if I remember correctly. They wanted people write in on the notepad, explaining how they had found the secluded spot where Bill and I were standing, a little gem of a place tucked behind a dense wall of tress. I’ve been going to this hideaway for years. It’s like an oasis, somewhat hidden, but linked by a narrow path to the well used trail skirting the Don River. The note encourage anyone who had stumbled on this little, sandy, beach-like alcove to drop a line or two revealing what they liked about it and I am happy to say there were a few accounts ranging from a sentence or two, to a couple of pages, or a poem written down then resealed inside the plastic bag for a new tale to be told. Bill and I jotted down our story then left the bag where the next person could stumble on it and leave their tale.
*
Word of the day.
Vellicate \ VEL-i-keyt \  verb –  1. To touch (a body part) lightly so as to excite the surface nerves and cause uneasiness, laughter, or spasmodic movements. 2. To irritate as if by a nip, pinch, or tear. 3. To move with spasmodic convulsions.

I could feel his fingertips vellicate lightly behind my neck, there, at that most sensitive region as he leaned toward my lips.

2 Responses to “Treasure It.”

  1. Angela said

    With my internet finally working I can check in on your wonderful blog…

    I LOVE THIS POST! I love the fact that they left this for the world to participate in AND that the world went along.

    Congrats on the bike ride by the way – my turn next!

Leave a Reply

