Words Galore

August 26, 2010

Eastward bound @ King and Simcoe, Toronto

The August Break – Day 26

*

Word of the day.

Orthoepy \ awr-THOH-uh-pee \ noun. – 1. The study of correct pronunciation. 2. The study of the relationship between the pronunciation of words and their orthography.

Hm… I’m a little to bed-draggled (to be dragged, half asleep out of bed. Not to be confused with bedraggled.) to construct a sentence with today’s word at the moment. I’ll think on it throughough the day but am not making any promises. See if you can come up with  something. (Methinks I will be getting about as many responses and/or comments as I usually do. Insert sound of static, here.) Instead, I will share the sentence I cobbled together with the last three days worth of words I have compliled due to a melange of reasons and excuses. Here goes:

Distrain \ dih-STREYN \ v. 1. To seize the property of (a person) in order to compel payment of debts. 2. To levy a distress upon.

Lupine, n. \ LOO-pahyn \1. Savage; ravenous; predatory. 2. Pertaining to or resembling the wolf.

Galore  \ guh-LOHR \ adj. 1. In abundance; in plentiful amounts.

He grabbed my arm, distraining it behind my back while hissing his lascivious and lupine intentions, along with hot breath galore, in my ear.

diclaimer: I realize some of my efforts may not be entirely correct, grammitacally speaking, but at least I do my best where orthoepy is concerned.

And, actually, that might not be true either but at least I worked the word of the day in. Right on, baby.

Leave a Reply

