I’m a Schleppa Too!

August 27, 2010

The August Break - Day 27

Standing on a brick walkway behind the Metro Convention Centre in Toronto. I didn’t have time to investigate what the names symbolized since I was on my lunch break and had about three minutes to make it back even though I was about ten minutes away. There are quite a few of names. I’ll have go back and see who these people were, or are, and get back to you.

Word of the day.

I felt thrilled when I saw today’s word since it happens to be one of my all-time favourites. In the musical Gypsy, a stripper sings some advise to the soon to be hottest sensation, Gypsy Lee Rose, in the song “You Gotta Get a Gimmick”. The lyrics include these lines:

Once I was a Schleppa, Now I’m Miss Mazzeppa, With my revolution in dance.
You gotta have a gimmick If you wanna have a chance!

You gotta love Sondheim.

And, that’s pretty good advice if you ask me.

Schelp – \ SHLEP  \  , verb; 1. To move slowly, awkwardly, or tediously. 2. To carry; lug.

I stuffed random items in my knapsack, then hoisted it on my shoulder so I could schelp my sorry ass to work and make in on time.

And on that note…

Leave a Reply

