Twenty-Nine

August 29, 2010

Hanging out at Buster Fest at St. Lawrence Market

The August Break – Day 29

I missed the 28th of The August Break but I’m going to blame it in the TTC. Rule number one – always blame someone (or something) else for your tardiness (especially an institution that can, at times, really pissing you off). I’m not going to get into that right now but I will say pretty much every route I needed to travel on yesterday had a problem leaving way behind schedule and to jammed up to post.

I did manage to finally venture over to The St. Lawrence Market, a Saturday ritual and site of Busker Fest, an event to support epilepsy, on for one more day. Today. So head on down if you can to check out the sights and drop a loon or two (or what have you) into the bin to support yet another worthy cause. There are so many out there.

*

Now, down to business:

Word of the day.

Kith . \ KITH \ noun 1. Acquaintances, friends, neighbors, or the like; persons living in the same general locality and forming a more or less cohesive group.

In my old neighborhood we were a very tight kith, always looking out for each other.

(and if you don’t like that rather lame attempt at sentence construction you can kith my ath. hahha… ?)

And from the day before (a.k.a. yesterday):

Couchant – \ KOU-chuhnt \ adj.  1. Lying down; crouching; reclining. 2. Heraldry . (Of an animal) represented as lying on its stomach with its hind legs and forelegs pointed forward.

I found myself, couchant and speaking softly to the little one in tears, who had lost his way home.

List 29 –  Twenety-Nine Songs I Dig From a Very Long List in No Particular Order:

  1. Hombre, M.I.A.
  2. Don’t Test/Wu Stallion,  Suga Bang Bang
  3. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing, Stevie Wonder
  4. Song For Sharon, Joni Mitchell
  5. Me an Arrow, Bob Wiseman
  6. Freedom, Richie Havens
  7. Aquarium, Moasic
  8. The Viper’s Drag, from the Original Broadway Cast Recording
  9. Cowboys, Portishead
  10. Do Something, Macy Gray
  11. That Ain’t Right, Original Broadway Cast
  12. Is This Desire?,  PJ Harvey
  13. Let The Wind Carry Me, Joni Mitchell
  14. My Mom, Chocolate Genius
  15. Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am, Taj Mahal, Baaba Maal
  16. I’m On My Way, Mahalia Jackson
  17. Little Red Corvette, Prince
  18. Give It Up , Public Enemy
  19. Strawberry Letter 23, The Brothers Johnson
  20. Gloria, from the Shine soundtrack
  21. Cold Blue Steel And Sweet Fire, Joni Mittchell
  22. Nulla In Mundo Pax Sincera, Vivaldi (from the Shine soundtrack)
  23. Heaven on Their Minds, Carl Anderson singing on Jesus Christ Superstar soundtrack
  24. To Cry About, Mary Margaret O’Hara
  25. I Want To Be The Boy, The White Stripes
  26. Find My Baby, Moby
  27. Freddie Freeloader, Miles Davis
  28. Matte Kudasi, King Crimson
  29. Stabat Mater, Vivaldi as sung by Michael Chance. I get chills just thinking about it. I will admit to you that until this very moment I thought it was a woman’s voice. This man sounds exquisite.

Leave a Reply

