30) Effacing

September 30, 2010

Word(s) of the day. (September 28 & 29. I meant to post this on Tuesday – then Wednesday.)

Efface – \ ih-FAYS \  , verb;  1. To cause to disappear by rubbing out, striking out, etc.; to erase; to render illegible or indiscernible. 2. To destroy, as a mental impression; to wipe out; to eliminate completely. 3. To make (oneself) inconspicuous.

and,

Confiscable – \ kuhn-FIS-kuh-buhl \  , adjective;  1. Liable to be taken by an authorized party.

I hope to efface my confiscably* bad habits by the time I hit forty-five.

*me being the “authorized party”.

Yes… Hm… Good luck with that one, Kim.

List Thirty – Bad Habits

procrastination

late night over-eating

not giving it 100%

settling when I should be striving (same as above?)

Skimming over an article when I really should be reading (am I really that busy? And, it seems to take just as long.)

allowing my work space to get cluttered

buying a new item, then not wearing it for a long time

buying an item I think I want because it’s on sale, than not using it.

spending way to much time on Facebook. For the record, I don’t mind FB (much to my surprise) and I am definitely am not on it for hours but it is not the place one should go to if they have mounds of other things to do. It is the ultimate time (and brain cell) zapper.

Buying too many notebooks.

Buying too many pens.

Starting but not…

Poor penmanship.

Procratination. Did I say that already?

Not knowing were to being then abandoning the ship.

Piling too much on my plate then being too overwhelmed to dig in. (are you seeing a pattern here?)

Spending precious time on things that don’t really matter (this list is a bit depressing.)

Avoiding the swimming pool.

Etc…

The actual word of the (to)day.

Lucifugous – \ loo-see-FOO-guhs \  , adjective; 1. Avoiding light.

Today feels like a lucifugous kind of day; head under the pillow, covers pulled over my head, my eyes shut tight against the possibility of sunlight.

I think I’ll wear my shades today.

Leave a Reply

