37) Sink or Swim

December 11, 2010

I just might have to grab onto this buoy

It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas. Yes… Once my nerves start to rattle and my head becomes all fahlalalalahlaladdled it’s safe to say Christmas is on the way. For me, the busy is all about work. My job entails selling a product that could be considered a good gift idea by some and so my workload increases by a percentage in the high double digits. Of course, I’m happy for the business for without it I wouldn’t get paid. But, do I feel wiped out at the end of the day? Oh yes I do. Now remember, on the calmest of days (on the job or otherwise), the rest of my life can set the switch to high in fraz mode, so with the added pressures of non-stop shoppers things can get a bit… blurry. At this time of year, if I’ve learned anything from the past, I know I need to keep things as simple as possible. After my last french class on Monday (I think we’re having a test. Merde!!!) the plan is to turn things way down to low. When I was a youngster, one of the best stuffers wedged into the toe my stocking was one of those sugary sweet and shiny books of Lifesavers (remember those? Butterrum was my fave) these days however my life savers come in many different forms so when it feels as if I’m going under, I be sure to grab ahold of one my rescue remedies.

List 37 – Holiday Buoys

  • Books – nothings like plunging into a good read with a morning coffee, on a lunch break, or on the way home on the subway to pull one out of the deep-end.
  • Movies – I love watching movies of all types but for the next week or two nothing heavy please. I don’t need any help in sinking. A well made piece of fluff is exactly what the doctor ordered.
  • Deep breathing – several times a day. The trick is to avoid hyperventilating.
  • Clean house – The less cluttered my house is the better I feel. I better start tossing a few items in the closet.
  • Eating well  – I cannot stress enough (or maybe I can) the importance of eating properly during a busy spell. I have every intention of preparing some lunch ideas for the week ahead because, if you’re anything like me, there is nothing worse than wasting precious break time perusing the food courts for some salty, oily and often over priced (if it’s made well) bit of take-with.
  • Abstaining from alcohol – I will try my best.
  • Releasing all illusions I can do it all – Somehow I will need to study for my test on Monday (I should actually be doing that now) but after that – c’est tout! I will blog here and there and do this and that (maybe) but I will not beat myself up if I can’t tackle that giant to do list I’ve been avoiding since Y2K. It’s waited this long.
  • Be patient – with myself and others. Some days I have less than zero patience and the constant eye rolling gives me a headache.
  • Chant – This too will pass.
  • Daydream – Mmmmmm…
  • Avoid any shop or café blaring Christmas songs – Sorry, but they really get on my nerves.
  • Go for a walk.
  • Go for a walk with my camera.
  • Breathe – I can’t say it enough.
  • Stay in the moment – Deal with what is in right front of me. When I see a long line stretched out in front of me it can get a bit creepy.
  • Be kind – Silently chant this mantra I read in a the book A Path With Heart, by Jack Kornfield (over and over again dammit) that says,  May I be filled with loving kindness. May I be well. May I be peaceful and at ease. May I be happy. Sounds good to me!
  • Go swimming – which would help me, I know, if it didn’t entail waking up a 6:15. So until the end of the year I am going cross that one off the list unless I happen to wake up early enough to go. I always enjoy it when I’m in the water – and not sinking.
  • Get a good night’s sleep – It’s amazing how tired I can get after a mind frazzling day but then when it comes time to hit the sack my eyes refuse to close. I’m hoping this year will be different (oh please, oh please).
  • Always show up to work on time and DO NOT rush – I am often jamming as much as I can into a limited time span which usually has me running. There is absolutely no need to start that one last task when I really out to be putting my coat on.
Leave a Reply

