1) Name That Tune

January 4, 2011

Seen at The Evergreen Brickworks

Is that light I see at the end of the tunnel?

Well… My office is once again in a topsy-turvy state and I suppose my mind is feeling the same way. Lots of stuff brinking (new word) as of late. Yes, I’m singing the same old song and it is high time to change my tune. Three major things are going on at this particular moment that just might (hopefully – pleasepleaseplease) nudge me into a forward moving gear. I think they call it drive. Parking brake off, please.

Those three things are: I’m off from work for a little while, it’s the beginning of a new year and I’m rapidly approaching my  scary age. 1 + 1 + 1= get your shit together girl.

The last time I was in a similar situation (i.e. had some extra time on my hands) I attempted to tackle the same task of getting my office/ life in order but here I’m sitting-  and it ain’t pretty. By the end of this week, I vow I’ll be able to breath easier. Inhale. Exhale. Whew…

In the meantime, here is my first list of the year. I hope to post one list a week since I fell a few short in 2010. Why do I get myself into these situations?

List 1 – Name that tune. Nothing new here but these tracks are really making the task of sifting through my life’s clutter, a whole lot easier to swallow. At least I’m not singing that same old song.

Hey Ya! – OutKast. Man I wish I could move like André 3000

Heaven On Their Minds – Carl Anderson from the Jesus Christ Superstar Soundtrack. As far as I’m concerned Judas was the real superstar in that musical.

Honey – Moby

Find My Baby – Moby (Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the video clip to this song but you can click on the title to hear it.)

Nulla in Mundo Pax Sincera – Vivadi off the Shine Soundtrack sung beautifully by Jane Edwards

Gloria – Same as above although I’m not sure who is singing.

Tell Me Something Good – Rufus. Check out the shoes Chaka Khan is wear. Woah!

Strawberry Letter 23 – The Brothers Johnson. My afro in on the ’70s could definitely give these bros a run for their money.

Seven Nation Army – White Stripes (and speaking of Beck… )

Devil’s Haircut – Beck

Your Ex-Lover is Dead – Stars (Beautiful song, beautiful video.)

That Ain’t Right – from the Ain’t Misbehavin’ Soundtrack

The Viper Song – same as above

Do Something – Macy Gray (How appropriate. Strange video though. Wha… ?)

Leave a Reply

