Ebb and Flow

January 13, 2011

Welcome to Kew Beach

Point of entry.

Ebb and Flow...

Making a splash on a snowy day.

No Life Guard on Duty. Although, some days I could sure use one.

Snow fence #1.

Snow Fence #2. Not quite as steady.

Leuty Lifeguard Stand.

Life ain't always a picnic but it sure can be pretty.

Last Saturday, I woke up to see a grand pile of snow had fallen and decided, right there and then, to head down to (where else?) the beach. From that point forward my day took a turn. Everything I attempted to do failed in someway – even trying to get down to the lake shore. The buses couldn’t make it up the snowy, unplowed hill (really?!) forcing me to trudge my way through the freshly fallen snow toward my destination. Yes, I grumbled to myself for most of the way until I realized, due to the detour, I was entering the beach for an area I hadn’t been before: a rather lovely and secluded area (see the Point of Entry shot above) not far from where I was headed. I decided to take this as a sign as if saying – if I open myself up to it, those road blocks and reroutes in life might lead me to a place I’ve never seen or thought of before. On those days when I drop everything I try to grasp on to (we all have those days, don’t we?) I often wonder what the blaze is going on?

At the end of it, though, I was happy to see at least a few shots turned out from my stroll along the boardwalk. I guess I hadn’t dropped everything but it took me a few days to notice.

3 Responses to “Ebb and Flow”

  1. bill said

    Great shots.

  2. Vivi said

    Great post…and fantastic shots! All suitable for framing!

Leave a Reply

