Words of Wisdom

August 9, 2011

You've gotta love stumbling onto an inspiring exhibit.

One (more) reason why I haven’t posted much lately, although I’m hoping the dry spell has passed, is because I’ve been feeling a little defeated. This recent acquisition of my 45th year kind of threw me for a loop. I knew it was coming, yes, but in keeping with my character (up until now that is – wink) I forgot to prepare myself. I expected to be at a certain place by this point but forgot to mention as much out loud. There’s something to be said, I think, about saying it and letting the air take hold of things so that its soft, gentle, feathery arms can lead you in the right direction. Saying it sort of plucks it out of the jumbled mass of thought in ones mind and makes it more real. Or course, nothing makes it more real than actually getting down to business – but that’s another story.

The other day I was feeling a bit hopeless and blue when I stumbled onto the exhibit, Wisdom by Andrew Zukerman. It was at the beautifully lit Albert Lambert Galleria in Brookfield Place and consisted of a collection of portraits of some very familiar faces, along with quotes on the topic of wisdom and what that word signified to each of them.  You can check out the Wisdom website – here – to take a deeper peek.

Here is a mini-sampler of a few quotes I found inspiring:

Risk it. Go for it. Life always give you another chance, another go at it. It’s very important to take enormous risks.Mary Quant

Cities are the most complex and socially-critical form of organization that mankind has created. One might say that although we build the cities, it’s the cities that shape us.Richard Rodgers ( I think some of the members of Toronto’s city council ought to read this one each morning and at night before they go to bed.)

Don’t be too ambitious. Do the most important thing you can think of each year and then your career will take care of itself.Henry Kissinger

Life is not perfect, it never will be. You just have to make the best of it and you have to open your heart to what the world can show you. Sometimes it’s terrifying and sometimes it’s beautiful. And I’ll take both thanks.Graham Nash (me too, please.)

Wisdom is the constant questioning of where you are. Billy Connolly (Too bad he did say “who” you are for in that case I’d be the wisest person on the planet)

Believe in yourself and believe in love. Love something. We’ve got to learn to love something deeply. I think it’s love. It sounds sentimental as hell, but I really think it is. To paint a leaf, or a twig, or a piece of dung from a horse, it doesn’t matter; the shadow it casts can be wonderful. – Andrew Wyeth.

A human being has a need for dignity just like water, like air. People will say food, some people will say air, and my attitude is the most fundamental human need is dignity. The sense of being in control of one’s existence. Ultimately, without food or water, you know, one dies, and then, okay, one can have a dignified death. Therefore, ultimately, you cannot control people by fear, because their ultimate essence is constantly craving for that property, that acquisition called dignity. – Wole Soyinka

You can’t get to wonderful without passing through “all right”. And when you get to “all right” you should look around and familiarize yourself with things, because that might be what you are capable of. And that’s all right. – Bill Whithers (Amen to that.)

But the epitome of wisdom would have been me sharing this with you before the exhibit actually ended since it closed yesterday August 5th.

Another few words to wise… Live and Learn.

 

Leave a Reply

