The Seeds We Sow

August 10, 2011

Grow... Grow... Grow!!!

I woke up way too early this morning. I slept well until about 5 a.m. Tossed, then turned for an hour or so then thought… I’m outta here. I made my way downstairs for my morning macchiato and pondered the day ahead. But it’s difficult to ponder when I’m so tired making getting up that early outside of the the point. Laying in bed, I couldn’t help thinking about the various mounds in my life I need to wrangle into some form of accomplishment. My backyard is in shambles, my office is still waiting for a desk suitable to work at, not to mention the work at it I hope to get done. I feels as if I’m at some awesome buffet having piled my plate sky high, only to fork my food around not knowing where to dig in. And anyway, when you try cramming it all in at once you just end up with a gut-ache. The interesting part of the pondering this morning is I saw a pattern. All of these piles of chaos around me in varying shapes and sizes seem to go against everything I desire: to be organized, calm, on top of my game, successful. The real task at hand, I’m thinking, is to go against the grain of what my belief systems keep telling me (shouting at times or whispering in my ear at 5 o’clock in the morning) that I have no idea what I’m doing so why do I bother to try? Because I have to, I say. It’s why I wake up in the morning.

A very good friend of mine sent me this quote by Og Mandino the other day.

I will waste not even a precious second today in anger or hate or jealousy or selfishness. I know that the seeds I sow I will harvest, because every action, good or bad, is always followed by an equal reaction. I will plant only good seeds this day.

I think I will repeat that from I know the seeeds I sow... over and over as my mantra, for a girl needs a good mantra to get her through a sleep-deprived day. And speaking of growing, here’s another one I just found by Mogdino which absolutely fits the bill:

Never again clutter your days or nights with so many menial and unimportant things that you have no time to accept a real challenge when it comes along. This applies to play as well as work. A day merely survived is no cause for celebration. You are not here to fritter away your precious hours when you have the ability to accomplish so much by making a slight change in your routine. No more busy work. No more hiding from success. Leave time, leave space, to grow. Now. Now! Not tomorrow!

Amen to that.

Leave a Reply

