People… Watching.

September 2, 2011

I thought ‘d share a few shots I took at my last inhalation of the Abstract Expressionist New York exhibit on loan from the MOMA (and btw I am ITCHING to go to NYC) @ the Art Gallery of Ontario, here until September 4th. It was my second visit to see that treasure trove of self-expression which I found absolutely swoon-worthy on both occasions. With my camera in tow I decided to snap some shots of the abstractions – since photography is allowed at that particular exhibit – but didn’t see much point in taking shots of the art on their own. Instead, I decided to turn my lens on the people taking it all in. I guess you could say, I was people watching as the people were watching… the art. I enjoyed myself. I’ve been wanting to take more shots of people since it’s something I shy away from. I tend to feel self-conscious about it, as if I’m intruding into their personal space. Even though (or maybe because) pretty much all of these shots were taken behind their backs I have to say, I like the result. I hope you do to.

I just noticed this “gallery” setting and thought I’d give it a try. Click on an image to enlarge it and then the next (etc.) to get a more detailed view. Included are works by Arshile Gorky, Helen Frankenthaler, Clifford Still, Lee Krasner, Joan Mitchell, Jackson Pollack and Mark Rothko. (I’m missing one of the names, dang-it, I’ll get back to you on that one.)

Leave a Reply

